The Oconto Area Chamber of Commerce hosted an After 5 in cooperation with the upcoming new Bayshore Community Academy in the Oconto School District on Tuesday, March 12, 2013. The new academy is for students who love to learn but are frustrated with school and want to be more independent but seek a deeper engagement in topics of interest.

Each grade level is limited to 20 students each in grades 5-7 in the fall of 2013. The learning experience can be in cooperation with community members who could offer hands-on projects, innovative use of technology and a learning environment focused on academic excellence and success in a global economy.

The governance Board consists of Dean Reed, President; Tom Fulton. Vice-President; Shannon Durand, Treasurer; and Tracey Sohrweide, Secretary. The teachers are Jenny Holmgren, Kelly Votava, Allison Campbell, Rhonda Ross, and Kari Brunette. Tours of the facility were conducted by Superintendent Dr. Sara Croney.

Bayshore Academy 004Bayshore Academy 003Bayshore Academy 002Bayshore Academy 001 If you are interested in enrolling a student, contact Aaron Malczewski, Middle School Principal at 920-834-7806, X2106 or aaron.malczewski@oconto, or Tom Fulton at 920-834-2095 for more information. The event was catered by Brothers.