Restaurant Week 2017

                                      RESTAURANT WEEK 2017

      The Chamber sponsored “Restaurant Week 2017 April 23-29 for the 4th consecutive year. A little over 1100 votes were cast at the various food establishments. Customers were given slips were to fill out indicating their favorite restaurant and menu item. The Chamber is pleased to announce that Wayne’s Family Restaurant is the 2017 winner. They were voted as serving the best pie in town, stuffed hash browns and Swedish pancakes. Check out their extensive menu items. The restaurant is located at 805 Brazeau Ave.

     Angry Eddies located at 1131 Main St. was voted as having the best big pretzel in town as well as specialized pizzas and Gyros.

      Brothers 3 is located at 106 Superior Ave. and still seems to be a favorite spot for pizza especially the Deluxe, bacon Cheeseburger and Hawaiian pizzas. A drawing was held there and Chris Roberts won a 13” pizza.

     Crivello’s located at 818 Main St. is the spot to go for the Vinnie burger, stuffed hash browns and a Jack Daniels burger. Crivello’s was the Restaurant Week winner in 2014

      The Oconto Legion Golf Club located at 532 Jefferson St. is the place to go for wings, chicken dinner, and steaks.

      Wagner Shell located at 517 Smith Ave. was voted as having some of the best broasted chicken and pizza slices. Why not check out “Wacky Wednesday” for a free package of toilet paper or paper toweling with special purchases.

      Wise Guy’s Riverside Bar seems to be the place to go for prime rib, all sorts of burgers and homemade grasshoppers served at the end of many of their entrees.  They were the Restaurant Winners in 2015.

Most of our home town food establishments make deliveries and do have carry outs. Benjamin’s Family restaurant was the winner in 2016. Shop and dine locally and “beef” up our local economy.

Oconto Chamber Recognition Banquet

The Oconto Area Chamber of Commerce Recognition Banquet 2017 took place on May 6th at Crivello’s.

The selection for the “Ed Zahn Volunteer of the Year” Award was Janine Hornblad. Janine has been very active in the community as President of the Woman’s Club. In this role, she has helped coordinate “Deck the Fence” and Christmas gifts to Rainbow House. She is definitely a community volunteer and leader as a bell ringer for the Salvation Army, an organizer of the Holy Trinity auction, a helper at the Blood Mobile and manna meals, a City election worker and she also serves on the Technology Committee for the City of Oconto. Gary Zahn, in memory of his father Ed Zahn, presented the award to Janine. Janine’s husband Jim and three sons and many members of their families were in attendance.

The selection for the “Business of the Year” was Stephenson National Bank & Trust, the Oconto branch.

Since opening its branch in 2002, the staff volunteers in many community events. Bob Schwartz, Loan Officer, is very active in the Lions Club, Knights of Columbus, Oconto Chamber “Grow Oconto” Committee and the Elks Club where he was named “Member of the Year for 2017.  SNBT is dedicated to volunteerism and community leadership. Members of the staff also belong and participate in many civic organizations in the City of Oconto. SNBT distributes over $100,000 to non-profits yearly. Beth Larson, Branch manager accepted the award. Beth also is active in the community and Oconto Chamber where she functions as Vice-President and a member of the “Grow Oconto” Committee. Dan Peterson, President and CEO of SNBT commented on the outstanding job that the Oconto Branch does.  Other members from the Oconto Branch who attended include Cathy Heimke CSR Supervisor; Denise Holtger, CSR; and Tina Hazen, CSR. Other employees of SNBT who were unable to attend include Patti Ernst and Sally Nischke.

This recognition takes place every other year. Past recipients of the volunteer award include: Gary Zahn, Jeremy Wusterbarth and Karl Ballestad. Past recipients of the business award include: Thompson’s County Market, Matravers Hardware, and Oconto Wagner Shell.