Recognition Awards 2017

The Oconto Chamber is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Recognition Awards. The selection for the “Ed Zahn Volunteer of the Year” Award is Janine Hornblad. Janine has been very active in the community as President of the Woman’s Club. In this role, she has helped coordinate “Deck the Fence” and Christmas gifts to Rainbow House. She is definitely a community volunteer as a bell ringer for the Salvation Army, an organizer of the Holy Trinity auction, a helper at the Blood Mobile and manna meals, a City election worker and she also serves on the Technology Committee for the City of Oconto.The selection for the Business of the Year is Stephenson National Bank & Trust, the Oconto branch.Since opening its branch in 2001, its staff volunteers in many community events and serves on the Board of Directors for the Oconto Chamber where they help to organize many events. SNBT is dedicated to volunteerism and community leadership. Members of the staff also belong and participate in many civic organizations in the City of Oconto. SNBT distributes over $100,000 to non-profits yearly.The Recognition Banquet will take place on May 6th at Crivello’s. Chamber members and the public are encouraged to attend the banquet to honor these recipients. The cost for the  banquet meal is $15 each and tickets can be purchased at Image Apparel. The deadline to sign up is May 1st. This recognition takes place every other year. Past recipients of the volunteer award include: Gary Zahn, Jeremy Wusterbarth and Karl Ballestad. Past recipients of the business award include: Thompson’s County Market, Matravers Hardware, and Wagner Shell.